Kakani : Take a hike, you’ll like it

Very little do I feel the feeling of ‘being alive’,  amidst all the rules I am surrounded by, and all the responsibilities I am liable to fulfill. But what’s life without the feeling of being alive? I think one feels alive to the most when they do something for themselves. And very recently I felt that feeling when I travelled to Kakani with my friends.

image

Kakani is a beautiful place that lies in Nuwakot District. It’s a one-hour bus ride from Balaju Bypass, Kathmandu to Kakani Bus-stop.  I think it’s very adventurous to travel in a local bus to another district, for you get to experience so many different things happening in a single bus.

image

A cramped bus, that won’t move until and unless it is filled with people all over the place, in the seats, standing on the bus and sitting in the roof as well.

image

When we got on the bus, there were no seats available for us. The four of us were startled, thinking about whether we should get off the bus and wait for another one  or we should just stand in the packed bus. Then, the conductor suggested us to sit on the tyre that was placed just before the first seat. We looked at each other making eye gestures and finally decided to sit on the tyre. After waiting for about half an hour in the bus, the bus finally moved. Little did we know that we were in for a rather exciting day.

image

From crying babies to people screaming at each other, from pushing each other to stand comfortably to the conductor coming to and fro the door of the bus and the roof in a moving vehicle, the bus ride was filled with different emotions. Adding to that, the under-constructed road and dust gave us quite a difficult time, but too excited for our little trip, we enjoyed every single moment. We even tried taking a selfie in the bus, which didn’t turn out so well.

image

After a vexatious one hour ride, we finally got off the bus, and as soon as we got off, we felt a cold breeze of fresh air, complimenting the breathtaking beauty of Kakani. We then began our most-awaited hike.

image

One of my favourite things to do for fun is hike. I love the feeling I get every time I hike to new places and see new things. I love the adrenaline rush I feel and  I love the smell of fresh air. I still remember the first time I saw a waterfall during a hike… wow, that was one of the best moments of my life. That is why,  I knew I was going to love whatever was about to come my way.

Surrounded by greenery, peaceful environment, breeze of fresh air and the silence. That moment had so much of magic stored in it that I was already feeling detoxificated from all the negative energy and baggage.

image

One of the reasons we chose Kakani for our hike and picnic was because of the famous Strawberry farming. We found many strawberries farms on the way. Many people of Kakani indulged in strawberry farming for employment

image

They pick out fresh strawberries and sell it to their customers, at the rate of Nrs. 400 per kilogram.

image

We bought some strawberries, and they were not only very organic and healthy but are also very tasty. The farmers plucked out fresh strawberries for us, and then our hike was complimented by fresh yummy strawberries.

image

image

image

After getting the taste of fresh strawberries, we stopped in our picnic location, and started with our pot-lock.

image

We rested for a while, enjoyed the view, the nature, laughed our hearts out and then decided to return back since it was getting late.

Even after a walking for a long time, we didn’t feel tired, instead we felt fresh. We looked for more strawberries farm but didn’t find any in the market area. Then, we waited for the bus for a while,  when we saw a board that said ‘Organic Kiwi – 200 miles away’.  Two of my friends ran to get those organic kiwi for all of us. But as soon as they left, a bus with empty seats arrived and we got confused, we didn’t know whether to get on the bus and hope for them to come on time or just stand there and wait for them while waiting for another bus. However, we decided to wait for them inside the bus. The bus-driver was very sweet, for they agreed on waiting until our friends arrived. After about 20 minutes, our friends came running, with kiwis in their bags for all of us.

image

image

And we all finally got seats in the bus on our way back. Woohoo! I take that as a great accomplishment.

image

After an amazingly fun day, we reached Kathmandu with smiles on our tired faces. We ended our day with yummy momos.

image

After a very very long time, I felt alive. I felt as if everything was in it’s right place. I felt good. So, that is why, whenever people say ‘take a hike’, I literally do.

Pratiksha Rajopadhyaya

One thought on “Kakani : Take a hike, you’ll like it

Leave a Reply

